New blog via WordPress

I thought I would tell you a little about myself as this is my new shiny blogs first post – I love poetry and that is the reason for this blog – from the About Steve page:

I love everything about poetry. Poetry allows emotions to flow onto a page like the first drops of long awaited summer rain flowing into a dry, cracked and lifeless riverbed: bringing life, to that dead and dusty riverbed, springing plants, flowers and wildlife back into action.

That’s the reason I love the title of this blog – bringing words to life – words, when played with, can be both beautiful and frustrating but ultimately rewarding if arranged in a wondrous manner.

I was in the Royal Navy for 15 years, I left 10 years ago and have worked as a Sys Admin, Project Manager, and more in that time. Please feel free to ask if you want to know more.

Thanks for visiting, do keep coming back I intend to update regularly !!

2 thoughts on “New blog via WordPress

  1. Beautiful simile about poetry being like a flow of water on to a parched area – loved it. Folks – Steve is a BETTER poet than me. My villanelle, though original in subject, is a bit pedestrian in execution. His isn’t. it really sings.
    Steve – if you want to read a wonderful poem about what the arts are about, then I recommend Robert Browning’s “Fra Lippo Lippi.” He speaks of artistic creation as a process of “lending ones mind out.” That one’s never been bettered, I think.

  2. Hi Duchess,
    thanks for stopping by and thanks for commenting ! It’s always great to get comments.
    I’m off to look for Browning’s “Frappucini” 😉 … thank you for the accolade [let’s not go down the you’re better than me, no, no … route]. I love all poetry, or at least all poetry that’s understandable, if you have to spend hours analysing to work out what one word meant, that’s not for me: although I very much believe, poems need to be read more than once, 2, 3, or as many times as you like, if you like the poem, but clever words for the sake of clever, aren’t for me: life for me is about enjoyment – I’ve had my troubles along the way but a smile and a laugh, and some deep thought every now and again are my way of life. I like to think so anyway.
    Speak soon Duchess 🙂

Leave a Reply

