Villanelle – For Steve by Ruth Grimsley

I had a lovely surprise during the week and received a villanelle written, for me [big smile], by my lovely friend Ruth Grimsley. Ruth and I met via The Red Baron who’s blog I started to follow a few months ago, Norman Ross aka The Red Baron, put us in touch from across the pond in Florida. Ruth and I have been exchanging emails and reading each others poetry, we like the way each other writes: our chance meeting inspired Ruth to write this poem. Ruth has invited me up to Sheffield to read at one of Words and Things group meetings, which I am really looking forward to – if a little nervous [I very seldom get up in front of groups of people so it’s kind of unnatural for me but I really am looking forward to it !].

Here is Ruth’s villanelle and thank you so much Ruth, I was over the moon to read it, I was over the moon you have taken the time to write, about me, I really don’t have the right words to express my feelings, thank you;

If there had never been the Internet
Though both of us write skilful poetry
Most likely you and I would not have met

We owe a quite immeasurable debt
To someone’s blog in Florida so free
If there had never been the Internet –

Keats’ unseen wings of poesy now set
Into a beautiful reality –
Most likely you and I would not have met

Electrically we’re now tete-a-tete
The net thrown out has caught both you and me.
If there had never been the Internet

There never would have been our sweet duet
Of consonance and luminosity:
Most likely you and I would not have met

And that would have been cause of great regret
Since we are quite near in geography.
If there had never been the Internet
Most likely you and I would not have met

“The viewless wings of poesy” – from one of Keats’ odes. “Ode to a Nightingale,” I think. “Viewless “ doesn’t really mean “unseen” now: nowadays it’s a word you’d only apply to a crap hotel room. Perhaps it never really did mean “unseen,” and Keats was exercising a bit of poetic licence. He did mean “unseen,” however. That’s clear from the poem, whichever one it was.

Copyright (c) Ruth Grimsley
2 thoughts on “Villanelle – For Steve by Ruth Grimsley

  1. Hi Brian,
    You’re absolutely right, I have met some great people over the last few months since I started on Twitter and blogging, this is regeneration of a blog I’ve been running since the beginning of January over at blogspot. I hope to meet at least some of them, I’m very much up for the digital age but there’s nothing like the personal touch.
    Thanks for commenting Brian, comments are always appreciated.
    Steve

Leave a Reply

