Poem – The Profile and The Craic: SJ Murphy

I’m 5ft 9 with too many pounds,
I get miffed when people miss their round,
My feet are set, firmly on the ground,
My bank account? Never enough pounds.

Film beginnings, many I’ve seen,
Ice cream ? Yes please, with praline!
My car, my van, neither pristine,
If only I’d caught, the final scene.

Reggae, classic, metal and rock,
All are loud, even gridlock.
Read lots of Larkin but don’t know Pollock,
Couldn’t spot a piece of Baroque.

A pint of Best, never a half,
Most important, I like to laugh,
You’ll never see me, wearing a scarf,
Winter warmth afront the hearth.

Never one, the fun to spoil,
Life’s too short for many a roil,
Murphy, oh mur-ik-oo, Seac and Somhairle,
Handsome chaps, easy to spoil.

Don’t ask for money, I seldom lend,
Money I’ve said, is there to spend,
Never been one to set the trend,
So I guess for now, that’s the end.

Footnotes:
1. oh mur-ik-oo is the pronunciation of the Irish Gaelic translation of Murphy – O Murchu
2. Somhairle [somoil] and Seac [shawk] are the Irish Gaelic translations of my son’s names [Samuel and Jack]

3 thoughts on “Poem – The Profile and The Craic: SJ Murphy

  1. prolific and smart..
    impressed

    Invite you to share your poetry with our poetry potluck today,
    Random poems, poems unrelated to our theme are welcome!

    Hope to see you in.
    Bless your talent.
    Cheers.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

