Around the Corner: SJ Murphy

Photograph courtesy of Greg Laychak

There was a time you looked at me,
With love in your eyes,
There was a time you looked at me,
With trust in your eyes.

You look at me now and ask the nurse,
After I’ve gone, in your ever soft voice,
“Who was that man?”. Sometimes with
Anger, you ask what I want, why I’m here:

I tell you about the kids, how they’re doing,
You look, you listen, but I’m not sure –
If you know, or understand. It’s painful –
To see you like this, but I’m not sure –

If it’s as painful, as what waits, around the corner.

This poem is part of One Stop Poetry‘s Sunday Photograph Interview and Poetry Challenge.

9 thoughts on “Around the Corner: SJ Murphy

  1. Thanks Gay – again never sure if it hits the spot but I guess it does with you – thank you !

    Thanks FB – for popping over and leaving a lovely comment – much appreciated !

  2. Unfortunately, I can also relate to your poem from the experience of watching a loved on go through the loss of their memories. So sad. Your poem reminds me of such struggle.

Leave a Reply

