Red Kite (Villanelle): SJ Murphy

I wrote this poem (a villanelle) a little while ago and am hearing terrible stories of the possibility of Red Kites being culled because they are coming too close into urban areas and causing a nuisance. Seems such a turn of events considering they were nearly extinct in Britain a few years ago – their only stronghold in the Brecon Beacons until about 30 years ago when they were reintroduced in pockets up and down the country. Luckily for me they were reintroduced in the Chilterns where I see them when I’m out and about with my dog Olly – hope you enjoy the villanelle – please leave a comment if you do – or leave a comment if you don’t for that matter – I don’t mind !

I sit and look and watch the sky,

a Red Kite glides in search of prey,

I ask the question, how and why,

 

do you hunt and poach in town? You do not fly

or hunt your prey, where once you may:

I sit and look and watch the sky.

 

Be gone to rural hunts and say goodbye,

go hunt your kill not here, but far away.

I ask the question, how and why,

 

do you glide with so much ease? Now high

above the rooftops searching: awaiting melee,

I sit and look and watch the sky:

 

a single beat you use to amplify

your height in search of prey.

I ask the question, how and why,

 

how long before you see, you spy

your kill, then swoop and eat your prey?

I sit and look and watch the sky,

I ask the question, how and why?

Leave a Reply

