5am Roll Call

Not a single light
is on
as I look up and down
the row
of back gardens

except mine.

I feel the 5am
autumn breeze
on my freshly shaved head,
and see a light
from the children’s ward
in the distance.

I wonder
and wonder

what’s going on
up there?

And I wonder
and wonder

what I’m doing here
at this
time of day,
inhaling the sticky
black tar
into my lungs.

More versed
to being here
in a rush
grabbing a first cup of tea
and cigarette
before the grind
of motorways and tailbacks.

But this
this
Sunday 5am
roll called seer
is enjoying the peace
no tailbacks
no deadlines
just the peace
of the autumn breeze

I wonder
and wonder

what’s going on
up there?

One thought on “5am Roll Call

Leave a Reply

